Visuals for beginners?

Hi there, does anyone have any links/resources for learning how to connect tidal with visuals? I'm a complete beginner, and any instructions that aren't aimed at experienced programmers would be great.

Thanks!

3 Likes

I suggest you give Hydra a try, it has a package for atom so you can live code visuals and music at the same time, it also works on web-based collaborative editors like Estuary and Flok

http://estuary.mcmaster.ca/

2 Likes

a nice video to connect tidal & hydra:

5 Likes

Do you know if it's possible for Hydra to respond to the audio automatically? There is a a.fft module according to Hydra website but I tried it and it never worked.

1 Like

Have you plugged the right audio input into Hydra? On the website, by default it's the mic and you have to change a setting to route Tidal's sound into the browser (I don't know how it would work with Hydra in the editor)

2 Likes

Do you still have Atom Hydra working with OSC? I have split the main TidalCycles OSC stream and i've confirmed that i'm sending it to the default OSC port for Hydra and confirmed that the port is receiving the msgs but they don't appear in the console. :thinking:

For anyone's reference. You don't necessarily need to set up another custom OSC target, you can the main tidal stream like this:

tidal <- startStream (defaultConfig {cCtrlAddr = "0.0.0.0", cCtrlListen = True}) [(superdirtTarget {oAddress = "192.168.1.1", oPort = 57120, oLatency = 0.1 , oSchedule = Live, oWindow = Nothing, oHandshake = False, oBusPort = Nothing}, [superdirtShape]), (superdirtTarget {oAddress = "192.168.1.1", oPort = 57101, oLatency = 0.1, oSchedule = Live, oWindow = Nothing, oHandshake = False, oBusPort = Nothing}, [superdirtShape])]