Can't handshake with SuperCollider?

Hi all,
I'm having this weird problem where Atom says "Can't handshake with SuperCollider without control port" . The strange thing is that Tidal is working fine, I can do everything as normal. But after running a bit of code, it chokes up and starts making some pretty weird sounds. If I restart it the same thing happens. I'm not sure if the two problems are related since I did have this problem of the weird sounds before but it was a rare occurrence now it happens every time. I think I started getting this error after loading some of samples into SuperDirt. I'm pretty new to this so I am probably over looking something very obvious.

for reference this is the weird sounds. its almost sounds cool

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UYNsSMJ1rxQ&ab_channel=niamhmccool

1 Like

I have had the first "problem" as well, but so far atom seems to be working fine for me.

Hm, what versions of Tidal (run tidal_version in your editor) and SuperDirt (have a look in Language > Quarks) are you running?

Does cpu usage go high, and if so what process(es) are using the cpu?

Are you using a custom BootTidal.hs, if so what have you changed?

This thread is a bit old, but after upgrading Ubuntu a couple months back i could not send messages to Superdirt via Atom, thought i'd need to reinstall everything and left it there. I installed the Visual Studio Tidal plugin today, everything seems to run everything fine, at least for now.
Then I tried again with Atom, and although the messages can be sent, i get this handshake error in the output :

t> [TidalCycles version 1.7.2]
Installed in /home/psygnozo/.cabal/share/x86_64-linux-ghc-8.8.4/tidal-1.7.2
Listening for external controls on 127.0.0.1:6010
That port isn't available, perhaps another Tidal instance is already listening on that port?
t> Can't handshake with SuperCollider without control port.
t>  
t> 

meanwhile with VS :

GHCi, version 8.8.4: https://www.haskell.org/ghc/  :? for help