Concatenation functions breaking randomness?

Hey everyone! I'm new to this software and it's been a blast using it so far, but I've just now come across an issue that I can't figure out with the available documentation.

I've found that using a cat function on a set of sequences containing randomness will sort of 'set' the random variables for the duration of the concatenation. For example, I have a concatenation of four sequences with note probabilities set by the ? notation, and when playing this, all four sequences end up having the same notes trigger each time. The result is four repeats of the same pattern before it is randomised, instead of the pattern randomly varying each cycle. I was wondering if there's another way to combine these patterns together that won't break the randomness of them (and also if there's a way to do what randcat does also without this same issue).

Here's the example that alerted me to this problem. It's a generative bassline where the rhythms are weightedly random but the notes change in a preset pattern. (forgive me if the notation is clumsy in any unrelated ways)

d3 $ cat[
    n "[bf2?0.4 bf2?0.8 bf2?0.99 bf2?0.92 bf2?0.98 bf2?0.7 bf2?0.99 bf2?0.92]",
    n "[bf2?0.4 bf2?0.8 bf2?0.99 bf2?0.92 bf2?0.98 bf2?0.7 bf2?0.99 bf2?0.92]",
    n "[df3?0.4 df3?0.8 df3?0.99 df3?0.92 df3?0.98 df3?0.7 df3?0.99 df3?0.92]",
    n "[gf2?0.4 gf2?0.8 gf2?0.99 gf2?0.92 gf2?0.98 gf2?0.7 af2?0.99 af2?0.92]"
] # s "soskick"

(note: I've found this issue persists also when the probability values in each sequence aren't the same)

any help is appreciated!

What you're observing is the result of (i)rand being deterministic: a one-way function is applied to the time interval (Tidal/UI.hs at main · tidalcycles/Tidal · GitHub )

With cat, each argument (in a round-robin fashion) gets asked for events in the same interval.
This property can be used to repeat a random sequence (see my other message on random-not-random)