Creating Rests

Total noob question. I love that Tidal works with cycles - however, when making a pattern, say something like this:

d1 $ note "0 4 7 ~" # s "superpiano"

The cycle has 3/4 for notes and one for a rest. What I'd like to hear is that pattern played maybe the equivalent of every other measure. But with that pattern at that original speed. Everything I've tried slows it down (loopAt, slow, etc). I'm sure I'll slap myself when someone explains...

Thanks,
Isaac

Hey,

you can use # silence to silence a whole pattern, so to silence your pattern every second cycle you can do

d1 $ every 2 (# silence) $ note "0 4 7 ~" # s "superpiano"

4 Likes

Self-face slap... that makes sense. At this point I've only used silence (or mute) as a standalone. Thanks for the help @polymorphic.engine!

A nice use of silence.

I would have gone probably for the obvious - much less elegant:

d1 $ slow 2 $ note "0 4 7 ~   ~ ~ ~ ~" # s "superpiano"

And actually that works, but if you do every 4, it loops the pattern 3 times before pausing (or resting).

It seems like there is something with either mini notation that I'm missing or some other function that can be applied. Or maybe # silence works with some params.

It seems the issue is squeezing all things into a cycle or slowing them down. I'm sure there are other ways, possibly even with stack - just wondering the best and shortest way. If you have have a bass-line and maybe only plays a small bit once every 4 measures... if you catch my drift.

Adding ~ ~ ~ ~ to it only speeds up the pattern by subdivision. This is where SuperCollider can do this, but then you actually MISS the cyclic functionality.

@mbutz Interesting. I tried that and didn't originally work the way I wanted. Maybe that's all it is. I notice a space between 0 4 7 ~ and the other 4. Is that a type (I'd think space is ignored) or something that is making it work?