Custom Tuning / Just Intonation / Microtonality

Hello everyone,

(Not sure if this is the correct category, since I guess it has more to do with SuperDirt/SuperCollider, feel free to move the thread around)

I have been wondering if there is any custom tuning capability with Tidal at the moment or in the works and how this could be best implemented. I am a beginner in all related areas but I think it would be a very interesting avenue to go down. At the moment, I have an external box (Midihub - MIDI Interface & Stand-Alone MIDI Processor) which converts outgoing MIDI to a particular scale (using an .scl file) with pitchbend. Maybe someone has already developed a system in Tidal to send pitchbend messages with custom scales on the fly, I'm not sure if it is possible to have polyphony with this technique.

https://xenpaper.com/ is a fun tool to play around with tuning in a text based way, maybe there are some ideas that could be pinched from here?

I've just thought that i haven't actually looked into custom tuning with SuperCollider, I believe there is Quark that works with Scala files?

There's also MTS ESP to consider ODDSOUND, i don't think it's particularly relevant but I'm sure some inspiration could be gleaned by someone...

Anyway, just putting the feelers out there since I've not seen much discussed before. It would be nice to have the option of tuning a given sample any which way, tuned to a reference pitch or a whole set of reference pitches, rather than having banks for each tuning. It would also be very cool to be able to pattern a sequence of different tunings or modulate intervals within a given scale with probability. I'll be mucking around with these ideas myself for a while for sure.

Cheers,
Dominic

1 Like

There is no way to pattern tunings for SuperDirt sounds in Tidal. (EDIT: turns out there is! see below)