Get Tidal code from Atom plugin

Hi everyone,
I'm involved in a project that uses the Processing language for the video part.
My task is to provide the executed Tidal code to the Processing app in such a way as to be shown over the visual.

Basically, I have to send the code to Processing in some way but I don't know how.
Maybe through an OSC message that embeds the entire code? Or, using a specific "get" function in Haskell?

I have no idea, and any words of advise would be good.
I apologize for the trivial question, I’m a novice with Haskell :grinning:

1 Like

I would start at tidal-vis, it dynamically renders a color pattern for the OSC messages and can generates svg or pdf files. I used it to make a svg but haven't looked inside. It should have clues to catching osc messages and sending them to processing.

1 Like

If you need to send all the code (evaluated?), that could be done modifying the atom plugin:
The normal behavior is that the code is sent to a ghci instance, but it could also be sent through osc...
Maybe we can implement it as a feature of the plugin, feel free to open a issue and a pr on the repository

2 Likes

Thanks a lot :slight_smile: I will try this now!
One question: from the OSC
-- Send pattern as osc both to SC and to tidal-vis
tidal <- startMulti [musicTarget, patternTarget] config
I can retrieve the SuperCollider code right (not the Tidal one), and set it to Processing through the patternTarget OSC message, right?

Thanks man :wink: I will try this solution but it will take time for me, since I’m not very experienced in the field :upside_down_face: but, if you have information about the new version let us know anyway.

Hi, I have a related desire so I'm hijacking the thread a bit.