How does Tidal scheduler work?

Hello everybody, pretty new to Tidal and I love it.
I have been making LiveCoding for a couple of years with Kyma as a backend for sound synthesis and with a LiveCoding package that I have been writing for Pharo for the frontend.
now I would love to make some kind of "Tidalism" :slight_smile: inside Pharo, I know it's hard and I don't know if I would get it but it's worth trying.
I wonder how can I understand better Tidal's scheduler. is there any paper or is there a particular module I should look for inside the source code? My Haskell knowledge is pretty basic but in the meanwhile I am studying it so slowly getting better :slight_smile: thanks for your help.

p.s.
here a glimpse of the LiveCoding package for Pharo:

3 Likes

Hi!

The scheduler uses Link to translate cycles into wall clock. This was introduced in Use ableton link for scheduling by Zalastax · Pull Request #898 · tidalcycles/Tidal · GitHub. The Tempo module is the driver of the scheduling. It works in chunks (length is defined by cFrameTimespan, which is 50ms by default), scheduling all events within the chunk that is being processed. We process chunks ahead of time. How much ahead is defined by cProcessAhead, which is 333ms by default.

2 Likes

Can you explain in more depths how this is done? I'm also curious about the Tidal scheduler and never found anything written about it. Part of my fascination with live coding environments comes from how they deal with time.

1 Like

thanks @Raph and @Zalastax I will look inside the Tempo module (and it will take time). what interest me particulary is how time "ticks" in Tidal. it is extremely precise and I love it

A lot of that precision comes from OSC and Supercollider. Tidal doesn’t actually tick precisely, but it does attach the precise time to the event messages it sends, and then Supercollider uses that information to schedule precise audio events on the sound server.