I have trouble install Haskell

Hi,
I'm a beginner, very new to Tidal. I got trouble to install Haskell.
I got this error:

[ Error ] Build failed with NonZeroExit 1 "./configure" ["--prefix=/Users/xx/.ghcup/ghc/8.8.3"]
"ghcup --cache install recommended" failed!

I tried to find a solution on the internet and in the forum but no luck so far.
Any help would be very appreciated.
Nitcha

What operating system? What is the exact command that produced the error that you showed?

Adding onto what jwaldmann said, if you're trying to build Haskell yourself (which it sounds like you may be doing because there's an error in the configure), you may want to try to see if there's an install available for your system either through a package manager or a prebuilt binary.

The poster seem to be using the ghcup method https://www.haskell.org/ghcup/ of installing the binaries of a Haskell compiler (ghc) and build system (cabal).

I never uses this method. I guess it cabal-installs (that is, compiles from source) some "recommended" packages. One of them involves some C code, which must be "./configure"d, and this fails, probably because necessary header files are not present. This would be solved by installing the *-dev packages. But all of this is guess-work.

(NB: You cannot "install Haskell" as Haskell is a language. You can install a compiler, etc.)

Hi @nitchafame,

I see you're on a Mac, I assume running the easy tidal-bootstrap method. It looks like it is trying to install Haskell (via the 'ghcup' method), but failing. Usually on a Mac this is due to needing some add-on Mac development stuff. The install script should make sure this is installed, but it seems something went wrong..

Try running this:
xcode-select --install

.. and then re-running the tidal-bootstrap installer. If it doesn't help, please share the full output, thanks!

Hi All,
Thank you all for the answers.