Midi from Tidal (note "0" and note "c3" different)

Hi. I'm fairly new to using Tidal, so I suspect I might be either doing something wrong, have some issues with my setup or have misread/misunderstood something.

When sending midi from Tidal, I was under the impression that note "0" and note "c3" should be the same. Thus: d1 $ n "c3" # s "midi" # gain 1 # midichan 0 and d1 $ n "0" # s "midi" # gain 1 # midichan 0
should give the same output/result.

However, the result I get is that note "0" produces a C3 while note "c3" produces a C1.

What could be the issue here?

Tidal inherits the Supercollider conventions, such that note 0 == midi note 60. (Search for “octave” here: Pattern Guide 07: Value Conversions | SuperCollider 3.12.2 Help) In some software, midi note 60 is referred to as C5. As a result, in this environment you’ll see those three equated. (Your screenshot on the right, however, appears to be software that associates midi note 60 with C3.)

Thanks a lot for your reply.
Sorry for being a halfwit here, but regardless of software I'd expect that when I use d1 $ n "c3" # "midi" from Tidal I would get a C3 in my midi monitor, Ableton Live or any softsynth and not C1. I felt it somewhat counterintuitive to have to think that "..ahh when I write C3 in Tidal I actually get a C1..to get a C3 i have to write C5"

But after trying things a bit more I see that one can just use c (instead of c3) for a C3.

So it maybe then makes more sense to just use the "basename" for a note (e.g c, d etc),
and then create melodic patterns with 'numeric offsets' something along these lines:
d1 $(|+| n "[12 5]/8") $ n "c a f e" # s "midi" # midichan 0 ..or one of the other million ways of doing things in Tidal

Love playing around with Tidal, but still somewhat confused :laughing:

Hopefully I can help quickly clarify what is confusing you: There is no standard meaning of C3, C5, or any other octave.