Patterns vs cycles

Hi, I am new to Tidal Cycles and I am impressed with its possibilities.
I am trying to create a quick reference to all possibilities of TC for myself. After reading lots the documentation from different sources, I am still confused about the usage of the terms ‘pattern’ and ‘cycle’.
A pattern is defined as e.g. ‘d1 $ s “cp bd”’ and at some point it is only “cp bd” and after that it is sometimes called a cycle.
Really confusing is e.g. concatenation of patterns or is it concatenation of cycles? Is a cycle just one loop of a pattern?
It would help to make (more) clear what the definitions of pattern and cycle are. Is that possible?

I think of a cycle as a unit of time

A pattern is a series of events

The spacing of the pattern events is defined by how many cycles you choose to apply the pattern over.

The speed at which the pattern executes is defined by your tempo (in cycles per second/cps)

1. sound "bd cp" defines a pattern with two events, spaced over 1 cycle

2. slow 2 $ sound "bd cp" defines the same pattern, with two events spaced over 2 cycles (because slow 2)

3. sound "<bd cp>" defines the same pattern as in 2. because "<>" makes bd and cp alternate each cycle

4. sound "bd cp" # cps 0.5 sets the pattern execution time to 1/2 cycle per second, so bd would play, a second will pass then cp will play

5. sound "<bd cp>" # cps 1 will sound exactly the same as 4, but the events are playing in alternating cycles which are 1s in length

I'm not sure if any of this helps, but hopefully it explains something

3 Likes

Thank you @cleary for your clear answer!
I thought of what's between " " as a cycle, but in the notation "<bd cp>" the two elements replacing each other every other cycle.
In "bd <sn [hh cp*2]>" it is not "bd sn bd [hh cp*2]", like fastcat, but cat ["bd sn", "bd [hh cp*2"]]