Reverse AND transpose using `off`?

Hello there! I am new to both Tidal and Haskell, but very excited by what I've learned so far.

I am attempting to use the off function to offset a pattern. I would also like to transpose the offset version AND reverse it. For example, here, I transpose the offset:

d1
    $ off 0.25 (|+ n "12")
    $ n "c e g b" # s "supervibe"

... and here I reverse it:

d1
    $ off 0.25 (rev)

I can't seem to do both simultaneously, however. With other functions, I know I can do something like this:

d1
    $ off 0.25 (jux rev)

... but with the |+ in play, I can't figure out how I'd chain together the transposing and the rev.

Thanks!
Matt.

1 Like
d1
    $ off 0.25 (rev.(|+ 12))

Does this have the effect you want? If so, the dot operator in Haskell let's you make new functions by chaining other functions together. By putting dot between rev and + we make a new function that does both - on right after the other.

Secondary to the point at hand, and merely since I happened to notice it while reading:

Try to make a habit of always placing whitespace around the composition operator . ala:

(rev . (|+ 12))

If at some point one finds themselves working in other Haskell codebases (or even when Tidalling, potentially) then that symbol, without space on each side, can have a different meaning.

whitespace around the composition operator .

source: "When OverloadedRecordDot is enabled one can write a.b to mean the b field of the a record expression."
https://downloads.haskell.org/ghc/latest/docs/users_guide/exts/overloaded_record_dot.html

while we're at it, recent GHCs introduced whitespace sensitivity around ~, !, and @, see 16. Known bugs and infelicities — Glasgow Haskell Compiler 9.8.1 User's Guide .

I found these more surprising since they are active by default, while the record selector thing is hidden behind an language flag. - Which might become the default later down the road, so the advice here is sound.

1 Like