Tidal patterns vs SuperCollider patterns

Apologies if this does not exactly fall into the category - feel free to move the question around.

I have been exploring the family of P objects in SuperCollider (eg. Pseq, Pbind, Pstut) and the ideas underlying patterns - eg. their stateless behaviour, why using patterns instead of routines etc.
Some questions have come to me, such as:

• what is the main difference between a pattern in Tidal and one in SuperCollider, if it exists?
  • what are pros/cons of designing a pattern in either Tidal or SuperCollider?
  • etc.

I don't think there is a specific answer for this, nevertheless, I would love to share some opinions.
Cheers.

2 Likes

I'd love to hear an answer to this too! I haven't used supercollider patterns myself, it'd be interesting to see an example of how they can be used to control superdirt directly.

1 Like

I'm curious about this as well.

I'm not a big expert on using SC patterns, but unlike Tidal Patterns they're explicitly lists - there's a "next" function to obtain the next value, and they do not themselves have any notion of timing or type. How a SC pattern differs from a vanilla SC list is mostly in that they are evaluated "on demand" and can be infinite.

In practice, using a bunch of SC patterns inside a Pbind to control a SynthDef can wind up being rather similar to what Tidal can do. But the notations are quite different and there are still differences in how you can or can't merge together things with different timing.

I think this can be an example:

(
p = Pbind(
	\type, \dirt,
	\dirt, ~dirt,
	\gain, Pseq([Pseq([0.9, 0.5], inf), 0.3], inf), 
	\sound, Pseq(["bd", "sd"], inf),
    \dur, Pseq([0.25, 0.75], inf)
).play;
)

p.stop;

In Tidal, you can do it using something like this (I hope!):

d1 $ fast 2 $ s "bd sd@3" # gain "<0.9 0.5> 0.3"

(I added the fast 2 to kind of match the speed).

What I can see here is the following: