TouchOSC controlled mixer in Supercollider

Hi all. I'm a beginner and I was wondering if anyone has any experience with building a mixer in Supercollider and/or controlling it with touchOSC?

var w, spec;
spec = \db.asSpec;
w = Window("Mixer v0.1", Rect(240, 240, 300, 500)).front;

w.view.layout = HLayout(*~dirt.orbits.collect { |x|
    var val = spec.unmap(x.get(\amp).ampdb);
    Slider().value_(val).action_({ |v| x.set(\amp, spec.map(v.value)) })
});

Starting with this code i picked up, sorry i can't remember where, I have a GUI mixer that controls the volume of each orbit, albeit in an inverted fashion (pushing them up turns the orbit volume down IIRC)

With 8 of these OSCDefs i am receiving data from faders in touchOSC and posting it in the post window.

n = NetAddr("192.168.0.50");

OSCdef.new(
    \fader2,
    {

arg msg, time, addr, port;

msg[1].postln;

},
    '/1/fader2',
    n,
);

n is the network address of my phone. 8000 is the default outgoing port from touchOSC to avoid clashing with the default port used for Tidal.

I am hoping more experienced people can help me with connecting these OSCDefs to the Sliders (and putting them the right way up) so that I can control the Sliders with touchOSC on my phone and maybe we can start a more general discussion about building mixers for our live Tidal setups in Supercollider along the way. I will update this thread as I discover new information and share the development of my own mixer.

3 Likes

After a bit of messing around I got this working:

~dirt.orbits.collect { |x, i|
	var path = '/osc/slider' ++ (i + 1); // change this
	OSCdef(path.asSymbol, { |msg| x.set(\amp, msg[1]); }, path);
}