Trouble with TidalCyles to work

Hey guys

I'm new to Tidals and having some difficulty getting it work. Would be great to know which place to look regarding the errors shown in the screenshot. Supercollider seems to be working fine.

Thanks in advance everyone!
H

1 Like

Seems like the plugin cannot find the ghc-pkg file, it's written in the console.

Otherwise, you can specify a custom BootTidal.hs file like specified on the plugin documentation:

Hm, but why wouldn't it find ghc-pkg? Perhaps something went wrong with the automated install of haskell. You could try again by running the command given here:
https://www.haskell.org/ghcup/

Thanks for this @yaxu and @ndr_brt
I tried deleting and re-downloading the ghcup files but still comes up with errors. It seems my pathway file isn't correct? I'm trying to change it if that's a potential answer.

Thanks again :slight_smile:

Thanks for the helpful screenshot..
Is there a ghc-pkg file in that bin folder? I guess so.
I'm not sure exactly what is wrong, but I think that if you go into the settings for the tidalcycles package inside atom, and change the ghci path setting to ~/.ghcup/bin/, then that should fix things.

So after starting fresh I still have the same issue. I've copied in the screenshot and also copied the 'Error report to clipboard' below. Downloaded Xcode but not sure how I'd use it to solve any issues.

Thanks again

[Enter steps to reproduce:]

1. ...
  2. ...

Atom: 1.51.0 x64
Electron: 5.0.13
Thrown From: tidalcycles package 3.11.0

Stack Trace

Uncaught Error: Cannot call write after a stream was destroyed

At events.js:171

Error [ERR_STREAM_DESTROYED] [ERR_STREAM_DESTROYED]: Cannot call write after a stream was destroyed
    at doWrite (_stream_writable.js:411:19)
    at writeOrBuffer (_stream_writable.js:399:5)
    at Socket.Writable.write (_stream_writable.js:299:11)
    at Ghci.writeLine (/packages/tidalcycles/lib/ghci.js:20:24)