Why is this forum hidden?

Hi all, I’m new to Tidal, and obviously new to the forum.

This might sound like a critique, but it’s an honest story, and honest question.

I’ve been searching for a TidalCycles community and the one I found seemed really dated. It was some sort of (also hidden) email based forum? Anyway, I came to the conclusion that there was nothing like this and nearly created one myself, thinking I could manage it as I taught myself TidalCycles.

I then found TopLap today, and now I’m here (from there).

Why is this forum hidden to members only?

2 Likes

I had pretty much the same experience a week ago. I think the reason is this forum was originally created for those who follow the tidalcycles lessons. But I agree with you, this forum is great and would benefit greatly from more visibility.

1 Like

I just searched "tidalcycles community" on duckduckgo.
The third result was:

Pretty explicit I think

Actually this is the case for the Wiki page "tidalcycles.org" and indeed there is a link to club.tidalcycles.org
I think what is meant here is that the club url is not found via Google. I think this is because the content of the forum cannot be indexed (it is hidden?). I guess this way we are not able to make SEO.

1 Like

Yes, this is exactly the issue @thgrund. Sure there may be links but the links offer little explanation as to what I’m actually joining.

What will I see? Is it even active? Is it worth my time signing up for? There are many people who are reluctant to sign up for new things for a lot of different reasons.

By allowing forum content to be indexed you provide a service to anyone who may have a common question/issue. If those results are not showing one is lead to believe they do not exist.