Using "Let" to give midi note numbers names (probably really obvious!)

I'm just getting started with sending midi, initially to a TR-8 drum machine and a micro-brute synth.
The drum machine uses specific midi notes for each drum sound. I'd like to be able to type the drum name rather than the number, so I can program patterns easier and see what's happening.

At the moment, for example, sending 4 kick drums looks like this

d1 $ n "231*4" # sound "tr8" # midichan 9

What I'd like to be able to do is this:

let BD = 231

d1 $ n "BD*4" # sound "tr8 # midichan 9

... and get the same result.
But not sure how to execute the "let" bit, or why it's not allowing me to do it.
I suspect I'm missing somehting obvious!
Any help gratefully accepted.

2 Likes

It's not obvious, but Haskell can't so easily peek inside the mininotation (the stuff in quotes) to see "variables" there. But you can write a substitution function yourself

s2n :: String -> Note
s2n "BD" = 231
s2n _ = 0

d1 $ n (s2n <$> "BD*4") # sound "tr8" # midichan 9
3 Likes

Another approach is using inhabit, you pass it a list of names and patterns, like this:

let drum pat = sound (inhabit [("bd", "231"), ("sd", "232")] pat)

d1 $ drum "bd sd" # midichan 9

You could also hide the midi channel in there so you don't have to type it each time

let drum pat = sound (inhabit [("bd", "231"), ("sd", "232")] pat) # midichan 9

d1 $ drum "bd sd"
d2 $ drum "bd*3 sd*2"

Note that the "232" bit is a pattern, so you could have one name trigger more than one event e.g.

let drum pat = sound (inhabit [("bd", "231"), ("rush", "232*8"), ("sd", "232")] pat) # midichan 9

d1 $ drum "bd sd rush"
10 Likes

Thanks both, that's really helpful.
Graham